Reg. Modeling of alpha-gamma transformation

solid-solid phase transformations, influence of stresses and strains
sachn
anti_bot: 333

Reg. Modeling of alpha-gamma transformation

Post by sachn » Fri Jun 17, 2016 12:57 pm

Hi all,
I'm new to Micress. I wanted to model the formation of Gamma from alpha, during heating in steel. I found one example in micress, which shows gamma to alpha transformation during cooling, but not for the reverse. Do you have any standard example of a heating simulation? In particular, I'm confused of how micress is going to take the 'undercooling' parameter, as in this case, its heating and not cooling,

Thanks,
Sachin

Bernd

Re: Reg. Modeling of alpha-gamma transformation

Post by Bernd » Fri Jun 17, 2016 2:50 pm

Dear sachn,

Welcome to the MICRESS Forum.

Essentially, there is no principal difference between heating and cooling, apart from the fact that now bcc phase nucleates. The "critical undercooling" for nucleation should always be positive. Essentially, you should think of it rather as a driving force for nucleation, given in units of a temperature.
We do not have a standard example for that, but you can easily start from the normal Gamma_Alpha_dri example. You just change the temperature and the relation between phase numbers in MICRESS and the database. Then, phase 2 is bcc and should nucleate and grow instead of fcc in the original example.

Bernd

sachn

Post by sachn » Tue Jun 21, 2016 10:17 am

Dear Bernd,
Thank you for your reply,the problem was resolved by making alterations you specified.The output file of the problem is attached.(as private message)