Recrystallization during Thermo-mechanical process

ripening phenomena, dislocations, grainboundary topology
anoopnn11
anti_bot: 333

Recrystallization during Thermo-mechanical process

Post by anoopnn11 » Thu Sep 23, 2021 9:26 pm

Dear Bernd,

I am pretty new to MICRESS tool. I want to predict microstructure evolution during the solid-state transition of friction stir welding (FSW) in Aluminum alloys. FSW is the thermo-mechanical process where material undergoes severe plastic deformation, and solid-state transition take place at a high temperature below the melting point.

The weld region/nugget region undergoes dynamic recrystallization, where both thermal cycle and plastic strain contribute. At the same time, the heat-affected zone (HAZ) undergoes static recrystallizations adjacent to the stir zone. FEM simulations provide the required thermal cycle and plastic strain, given as input for phase-field modeling representative volume element in 2D.

Some of my concerns are as follows.

How could I consider the stored energy of plastic strain in the phase-field model as a boundary condition?

I had referred to some of the examples i.e., ReX_deterministic/ReX_local_Humphreys/ReX_local_recovery/ReX_mean_dislocation/ReX_random. Which approach would be a more appropriate choice for my case.

What assumptions need to be considered for good correlative results?

Any additional suggestions from you on similar problems solved would be helpful to solve my case. Looking forward to your kind response and valuable feedback/suggestions.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Anoop

Bernd

Re: Recrystallization during Thermo-mechanical process

Post by Bernd » Thu Sep 23, 2021 11:43 pm

Dear Anoop,

Welcome to the MICRESS forum.