Initial and boundary conditions

dendritic solidification, eutectics, peritectics,....
shoney
anti_bot: 333

Initial and boundary conditions

Post by shoney » Wed Jun 22, 2011 8:43 pm

I am new in phase-field simulation of dendritic solidification. I tried to simulate isothermal dendritic solidification of binary solution, I have read some papers about such kind of simulation, but I am not sure what kind of initial and boundary conditions I should use for the phase-field function (phi) and the concentration (c). Can anybody give me some explanation? Thank you!

Bernd

Re: Initial and boundary conditions

Post by Bernd » Fri Jun 24, 2011 6:52 pm

Dear shoney,

Welcome to the MICRESS forum!

The initial conditions for a simulation depend a lot on the simulation setup and the problem you want to treat. I you say isothermal, then it sounds like a free growing equiaxed dendrite, but it could also be a free growing columnar dendrite front. In general, it is wise to start with the smallest geometry possible in order not to lose too much time waiting for the results while you are still looking for proper conditions or making parameter optimisation.
A free growing dendrite typically starts from a defined position. The initial condition for the phase-field variable would be to set an initial grain into the lower left corner of a quadratic domain (say 100x100 grid cells). The concentration field is flat (apart from the grain in the corner, the temperature is constant without gradient.
There is no perfect equivalent in the examples directory of your installation, but typically one should start from an already existing driving file (otherwise one has to answer too many questions for a beginner...). I would propose to start with "AlCu_dri", which is also binary, starting form a grain in the lower left corner and producing a dendrite.