Weld solidification

dendritic solidification, eutectics, peritectics,....
superabc
anti_bot: 333

Weld solidification

Post by superabc » Fri Apr 11, 2014 2:51 pm

Dear Bernd

I am a new hand to use Micress and my major is welding. Comparing with casting, the cooling rate is very high when welding, especially high welding speed.
e.g. cooling rate is the value less than about -20K/s when casting, while in case of welding, cooling rate is much higher, more than -100K/s or maybe more than -400K/s and the temperature gradient is more than 1000 K/cm under the condition of high welding speed. Right now, I have tried to run Micress. However, the dendrite morphology during growth is different from my experimental solidifying microstructure. It must be not suitable parameters I set. So, I want to consult which parameters should be treated more carefully at the high cooling rate. And can you introduce some solidification examples like this condition.

I am looking forward to your reply.
Thank you.

Best wishes

Bernd

Re: Weld solidification

Post by Bernd » Thu Apr 17, 2014 3:16 am

Hi superabc,

Sorry for not answering before, but I am on a trip to the US right now and was not able to contact the forum before!

Essentially, simulation of solidification at high cooling rates makes no specific difference compared to "normal" cooling rates, as long as cooling is not such fast that the local quasi-equilibrium condition doesn't hold anymore. In your case, there should be no such problem. Fast cooling even has some advantages with respect to performance!