PF simulation of Eutectic solidification

dendritic solidification, eutectics, peritectics,....
omid
anti_bot: 333

PF simulation of Eutectic solidification

Post by omid » Tue Oct 20, 2015 11:04 am

Hello there

I am totally new to the Micress and am trying to find out how to deal with this tool through manuals, examples and forum topics. I already have bunch of problems and hope someone can help me!
I want to model the solidification process of Fe-C eutectic alloy. I need some distinct data like Diff.-coefficient Prefactor for diffusion of element 1 in phase 1? or its activation energy! :shock: I have not found such a specific data in literature! Does anyone know how can I find them? Actually FeC is a well known and widely used alloy, in the case when I am supposed to model a strange alloy which has a very narrow application, what should I do? :cry:
Furthermore, I am trying to use GES file which I myself have generated it in thermocalc, and have pasted it in the GES library, but whenever I try to follow a file like AlCu_dri, as soon as it tries to read the GES file, it says there is no such a file or Thermo-Calc coupling not available :? I need an emergency hand to overcome these challenges!
Thanks in advance!

Bernd

Re: PF simulation of Eutectic solidification

Post by Bernd » Tue Oct 20, 2015 5:27 pm

Dear Omid,

welcome to the MICRESS Forum.

Please don't worry, the problems you describe can be easily solved. Of course, it would be much easier if you had the opportunity to have a MICRESS training course before starting work. But we will try to help you as much as possible.

Generally, I would advise you always to start from an already existing example when you build up your problem. This could be e.g. the AlCu_dri for directional solidification which you already mentioned in your post.