reg high temperature and cooling rates solidification

dendritic solidification, eutectics, peritectics,....
swetha
anti_bot: 333

reg high temperature and cooling rates solidification

Post by swetha » Mon Jun 20, 2016 7:41 am

Hello Sir,
I am new to micress and am trying to simulate a ternary alloy system single phase solidification initially with selective laser melting(slm) process parameters which involves very high temperature gradients and cooling rates around 35000k/cm and 10^4-10^5 k/s.I am not getting a stable simulation and i am getting error messages like serious error in relinearisation and error in interface 0/1.What parameters i have to take into concern for simulating such high process conditions.I have attached my driving file for that ternary system of which single phase(fcc_a1) solidification is the primary work with slm process conditions.What changes can be done to this driving file to get a stable simulation?Looking forward for your reply. :)

Regards,
Attachments
ni-cr-mo.dri
(16.22 KiB) Downloaded 241 times

Bernd

Re: reg high temperature and cooling rates solidification

Post by Bernd » Mon Jun 20, 2016 10:45 am

Dear swetha,

Welcome to the MICRESS forum.

There are some points in your input file which are obviously not correct. First, there is a fundamental issue with your time and length scales: If you intend to simulate SLM, I would expect a very short time scale and very fine dendrites. This is not reflected in the driving file (spatial resolution ("cell dimension", output times, intervals for updating diffusion data, thermodynamic data, etc.). The essential and first step must be to define the proper scales.

Apart from that, I found two other problems:

- You do not allow diffusion in the liquid phase (phase 0):

# How shall diffusion of component 1 in phase 0 be solved?
diagonal n
# How shall diffusion of component 1 in phase 1 be solved?
multi gg
# How shall diffusion of component 2 in phase 0 be solved?
diagonal n