soldification from Liquid to Bcc in Fe-C-Cr alloy

dendritic solidification, eutectics, peritectics,....
Manoj540
anti_bot: 333

soldification from Liquid to Bcc in Fe-C-Cr alloy

Post by Manoj540 » Tue Jul 12, 2016 8:42 am

Hello

I am totally new to the Micress and am trying to find out to grow dendrites of Fe -C-Cr alloy from liquid to BCC . But I got a problem after maximum phase1(BCC) fraction again its decreasing and dendrites are forming . I don't why it is happening.
I tried for cooling rate of (-50 K/s) and (-1k/s) in case of cooling rate of 50k/s temperature keeps on decreasing but in case of 1k/s it decrease and again it increases
you can find my attachment also of results.
manoj16.in
input file
(21.58 KiB) Downloaded 230 times
frist.png
this was happend till 1688 K
frist.png (54.24 KiB) Viewed 4672 times
next & liq shrikage .png
after 1688k liq gets shrinkage
next & liq shrikage .png (56.61 KiB) Viewed 4672 times
liq Shrinlage and dendrites growing.png
liq shrinkage and dendrites growing
liq Shrinlage and dendrites growing.png (67.65 KiB) Viewed 4672 times

Bernd

Re: soldification from Liquid to Bcc in Fe-C-Cr alloy

Post by Bernd » Tue Jul 12, 2016 6:53 pm

Dear Manoj540,

Welcome to the MICRESS Forum.

It seems that you re-used an existing input file without fully understanding all the features which are used there.
The driving file which you appended uses the "moving_frame" option which allows the simulation domain to follow the dendrite tips in directional solidification when they approach the top boundary up to a specified distance. This explains why the bottom temperature (which is written to several output files) does not reflect the cooling rate any more once the moving frame is in action.