Mobility coefficient

dendritic solidification, eutectics, peritectics,....
Mehnoush
anti_bot: 333

Mobility coefficient

Post by Mehnoush » Mon Aug 01, 2016 4:22 pm

Hi,
I am new in MICRESS, and in the first step i wanted to start my simulation by modeling solidification of IRON. as i looked up in the scripts you give along with the MICRESS software, i found that we should define the interface mobility for different phases. in Literature several methodes for calculation of interface mobility can be found and this is a littel confusing. it would be great if you could help me to find good refernce that matches the simulation in MICRESS as well.

BR
Mehnoush

Bernd

Re: Mobility coefficient

Post by Bernd » Mon Aug 01, 2016 10:05 pm

Dear Mehnoush,

Welcome to the MICRESS forum.

MICRESS is based on the multiphase-field model which is a kinetic model for phase transformations. Therefore, the interface mobility is a central concept.
However, from a physical point of view, the interface mobility is only important in case of kinetically limited phase transformations. In solidification, typically, transport of solute or heat is rate limiting, depending on whether we speak about solidification of alloys or pure elements ("diffusion limited"). Interface kinetics would only be limiting in case of very fast solidification with interface velocities in the order of 1m/s.
Thus, in almost all solidification cases, the interface mobility is not rate limiting and therefore not a physical parameter (at least if we talk about metallic phases). Then in simulation, in principle, the interface mobility just needs to be high enough so as not to limit the solidification reaction.
Practice often is a bit more complicated, because numerical artifacts which are caused by too coarse spatial discretisation can be corrected by the suitable choice of the interface mobility.

Which type of solidification do you want to simulate? Is it pure iron or are we talking about iron alloys (steels)?