The distribution of solute element

dendritic solidification, eutectics, peritectics,....
Shenyz
anti_bot: 333

The distribution of solute element

Post by Shenyz » Sun Aug 16, 2020 7:58 pm

Hi Bernd,
Recently I am studying the solute distribution during the solidification process using MICRESS and find some phenomena that confused me.
1) When I simulated the distribution of Al in steel, I found the Al content decrease to a small value (much smaller than the experiment result) during the solidification process, even negative in the cooling process after the solidification, as the picture shows. I don't know what's wrong.
1.png
1.png (772.37 KiB) Viewed 3515 times
2) I found the C content will fluctuate in the cooling process after the solidification instead of slowly change or keep constant. I‘m wondering is this the correct change?
2.jpg
2.jpg (147.49 KiB) Viewed 3515 times

Bernd

Re: The distribution of solute element

Post by Bernd » Mon Aug 17, 2020 11:43 am

Hi Shenyz,

It is difficult to say what causes the problems without having closer insight into your input file. What I could imagine as reason for the negative Al composition is an insufficient updating rate of the thermodynamic data. This can lead to a too far extrapolation, ending up in the negative compositions.

The second problem is not very typical, so it is hard to guess. If you use the full diffusion matrix for the solid matrix, it could be due to a stability problem, which sometimes happens with high-alloyed systems. It should vanish if the diffusion time stepping is reduced. This is automatically done as long as there is other fast diffusion present (like in the liquid), and can be done manually by reducing the general prefactor ("Factor for diffusion time stepping") in Numerical Parameters. It can also be done individually for each diffusion term using "cushion" in the diffusion data input.

Please send me more information on your application case if this does not solve your problem.

Bernd